What are the Sources

The sermons used in this project come from two different collections published in the mid-1800s. As both of the texts are well over 100 years old, they fall outside the claims of copyright. My first interaction with these two collections came by way of microfiche. However, returning to these collections years later I found them both available online. They had either been added since I wrote my undergraduate research paper or I simply did not do my due diligence as an inexperienced historian. At any rate, both of the collections of sermons can now be found on the Internet Archive. As a non-profit organization, the Internet Archive seeks to provide “permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.” Not only are these collections made available to the public, the Internet Archive provides multiple formats. In total, they provide six different file formats (EPUB, Kindle, Daisy, Full Text, and DjVu). This was extremely helpful as I only had to correct the OCR of the Full Text as opposed to feeding them through an OCR myself or transcribing the documents.

Title Page_Patriot Preachers

The first collection, The Patriot Preachers of the American Revolution, was published in 1862. The collection, edited by Frank Moore, contained 13 sermons that span from 1766 to 1783.

1766: The Snare Broken – Jonathan Mayhew, D.D.
1775: Government corrupted by Vice – Samuel Langdon, D.D.
1775: The Duty of Standing Fast in our Spiritual and Temporal Liberties – Jacob Duche, M.A.
1775: A Sermon on the Present Situation of American Affairs – William Smith, D.D.
1775: The Law of Liberty – John Joachim Zubly
1777: The Love of Country – John Hurt
1777: The Separation of the Jewish Tribes – William Gordon, D.D.
1777: An Antidote against Toryism – Nathaniel Whitaker, D.D.
1778: Dancing Exploded – Oliver Hart
1779: A sermon preached before the Honorable Council – Samuel Stillman, D.D.
1783: Ratification of the Treaty of Peace – David Tappan, D.D.
1783: The Divine Goodness Displayed in the American Revolution – John Rodgers, D.D.
1783: Restoration of Peace – George Duffield, D.D.

Title Page_Pulpit of A.R.

The second collection, The Pulpit of the American Revolution, was published in 1876. Edited by John Wingate Thornton, the collection encompasses nine sermons ranging from 1750 to 1783.

1750: Unlimited Submission and Non-Resistance to the Higher Powers – Jonathan Mayhew, D.D.
1766: Thanksgiving Sermon on the Repeal of the Stamp Act – Charles Chauncy, D. D.
1770: Election Sermon – Samuel Cooke, A.M.
1774: Thanksgiving Sermon – William Gordon
1775: The Right of Self-Government is from God – Samuel Langdon, D.D.
1776: The True Principles of Government – Samuel West, A.M.
1778: Popular Government – Phillip Payson, A.M.
1780: The Necessity of Civil Government to the Happiness of Mankind – Simeon Howard, A.M.
1783: The United States exalted to Glory and Honor – Ezra Stiles, D.D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *